NURSING… My Passion😀 OR NOT!!! 😜

Hello Dear Friends,

Hope the last few days were beautiful and the weekend has been great so far. Alright, I had a great and demanding week as usual and I’m presently working on my assignments. So this piece got to my mail this morning and I decided to SHARE.

The piece you are about to read was written for http://www.theidealnurse.wordpress.com by …

Okay, you will definitely find out her name after reading…

LET’S DO THIS!!!

 

“This is a report on my TOTAL emotional upheaval called NURSING SCHOOL, a place where emotions can skyrocket and plunge all within a minute 😑.
NURSING SCHOOL!!!!
In my FOUR short but endless years so far in nursing school, I have had days where I was super sure and excited to be a nurse🙌. I have also had days when I wondered what Florence Nightingale was thinking😠( that is one amazing woman by the way, I don’t know how she did it)
Nursing school has pushed me way past what I thought was my breaking point AND is still pushing. It has made me shed both tears of pain and joy.
So here’s a basic rundown of Nursing School so far:
* Classes after classes after classes😱😞
*Courses from every Department and almost every Faculty in the University. From Education, Science, a bit of Law, Psychology, Economics, Sociology, Community Health, Medical Laboratory Science, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Anatomy, Physiology, Psychiatry…. 😡
*Clinicals: posting in every ward from the Paediatric ward, to the Medical and Surgical wards, Orthopaedic wards, Theatres, CSSD, Accident and Emergency, Out Patient Departments….
*Assignments and Presentations :these basically assist to take out any free time or weekend you dream of enjoying😥
* Tests and Exams: we call call them incourse assessment and end of course assessment respectively. These words are enough to give a nursing student palpitations. The dreaded words!!! 😨
* Limitation on your dressing : how you are expected to put on formal attire no matter how hot it is and how informal you want to feel that day

I can go on and on but I will stop here😯 ( I can almost hear my fellow nursing students add more challenges in my head😂)

Truthfully though, as a Nursing student I have come to understand what EXHAUSTION really means. But I must confess that I won’t change it for anything 🙊.

  • Nothing can explain the joy I feel when a patient smiles at me when I change the bed linens to fresh ones,
  • No word can contain the feeling when a patient says Thank you as they are discharged from the hospital healthy,
  • Nothing can compare to the sense of accomplishment when you are able to draw a depressed patient onto a conversation or when sick children smile at you.
  • Nothing else can give me this opportunity to love people at their weakest even when their families can’t,
  • To understand just how much meaning mundane activities like feeding a patient, changing an IV fluid can have.

This profession has given me so much joy, my heart has been so full even on days when I was exhausted.
So YES🙅, NURSING IS MY PASSION , MY CALLING and the unknown dream in my heart when I was a child. Nursing is CARING, a RESPONSIBILITY, EXHAUSTION, IRRITATING, MY CAREER,,but more than that it is my CALLING(so now I hope you understand that Florence Nightingale was actually thinking well😂😁)

So here’s to all Nurses and Nursing students. I pray we always remember to pick joy on those days of exhaustion.

Here’s to the Career that has taught me the greatest gifts to humanity: LOVE AND SERVICE.

Here’s to the God who embodies love, may this be a tool to show you forth”.

Yours in the Nursing struggle,
STN DIMEJI-AJAYI, Olamide😘

 

So thanks a lot Dear Olamide for this, WE are sure FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE is proud of you!!!

 

 

 

4 responses to “NURSING… My Passion😀 OR NOT!!! 😜”

  1. Olamide Dimeji-Ajayi Avatar
    Olamide Dimeji-Ajayi

    Thank you for posting dear

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome darl, You Rock!!!

      Like

  2. Keep up the hard work!!!! It all pays off!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment